The AutoSave feature in Microsoft Office 365 behaves differently than people may expect. This feature has changed somewhat recently. We want to make sure that Office 365 users understand what is happening to their data.
With Microsoft’s AutoSave feature, any changes made to a document in OneDrive or SharePoint are automatically saved and the original document is lost. However, it is still possible to recover previous versions of the document using version history. For example, if you wish to retrieve the original version of a document in OneDrive, you can view it on OneDrive’s website where the “history” icon is shown.
Version History on the OneDrive Online toolbar
History on the File menu in the desktop version of Word
If you are concerned about the possible loss of original data due to AutoSave, AutoSave can be turned off. You can turn it off when opening a document or it can be disabled at the application level. You can also work around it by opening a document and then immediately saving it as a different filename to avoid changing the original document.
If you would like to speak to an OXEN expert about this AutoSave feature or Office 365, please reach out to our Client Care team.
OXEN Client Care
888-296-3619 ext. 1285 or Option 2